About Swedish land division

Because myself was confused a little about Swedish land division, I write it down here as a memorandum.

The lands of Sweden are Norrland,Svealand,Götaland. Those three unofficial parts resembles the Japanese district where they do not own the management capability.  They are called landsdelar(parts of the country).


landsdelar is aggregate of some provinces(landskap). Sweden has 25 provinces. They resemble provinces of Japan by historic area classification.


landskap was replaced with County(län). And they are the first level administrative and political subdivisions of Sweden. Län is equivalent to prefectures of Japan.


Each county is further divided into municipalities (kommuner).


This entry was posted in Sweden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s