Norse mythology : Völuspá

I had interest towards Norse mythology from childhood. I in the days of a child,there was the myth in the complete series of world story that my parent presented to me. I read the myth of Greece, Egypt, India, China, Japanese and Central South America. However, it was a North European myth to have won through up to my impression most. Why was not I interested in a Japanese myth that much? Though I am a Japanese.

Hokkaido that I spent in a childhood is a big island of the Japanese northernmost. Hokkaido is cold in comparison with most very hot and humid Japan of the summer. The North Europe myth seemed close in Hokkaido of the subarctic zone.

In the days of a high school student, I read Völuspá. Völuspá is the first and best known poem of the Poetic Edda.Naturally it was difficult it was written in Japanese, and to grasp the whole of the North Europe myth.

It tells the story of the creation of the world and its coming end related by a völva addressing Odin.

The poem starts with the völva requesting silence from “the sons of Heimdallr” (human beings) and asking Odin whether he wants her to recite ancient lore.

She says she remembers giants born in antiquity who reared her.

Voluspo (English, translations by Henry Adams Bellows)

This entry was posted in Norway, Second Life, Sweden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

